Friday, September 29, 2017

The Champions Golf Club is a 36-hole golf club in the southern United States, located in Houston, Texas. It was founded in 1957 by multiple major champions Jack Burke, Jr. and Jimmy Demaret, who were both raised in the city. Burke (b.1923) won the Masters and PGA Championship in 1956 and Demaret (1910â€"1983) was the first to win three Masters (1940, 1947, 1950).

In northwest Houston near Willowbrook, the Cypress Creek course was designed by Ralph Plummer and opened for play 58 years ago in 1959. It was the site of the 1967 Ryder Cup, 1969 U.S. Open, five Tour Championships, and the U.S. Amateur in 1993. It also hosted the Houston Champions International on the PGA Tour five times, now the Houston Open.

The second course is Jackrabbit, which is used in qualifying rounds for the various USGA Championships the club has hosted, while Cypress Creek is the primary tournament venue. It opened in 1964 and was designed by George Fazio, later renovated by nephew Tom Fazio.

The competitive course record at Cypress Creek is held by Chad Campbell, who shot a 10-under-par 61 in the third round en route to winning the Tour Championship in 2003, the last held at Champions.


source :

  • 1966 Houston Champions International - Arnold Palmer
  • 1967 Houston Champions International - Frank Beard
  • 1967 Ryder Cup - U.S. team defeated Great Britain 23½ to 8½
  • 1968 Houston Champions International - Roberto De Vicenzo
  • 1969 U.S. Open - Orville Moody
  • 1970 Houston Champions International - Gibby Gilbert
  • 1971 Houston Champions International - Hubert Green
  • 1973 Southern Amateur - Ben Crenshaw
  • 1980 Southern Amateur - Bob Tway
  • 1990 Nabisco Championship - Jodie Mudd
  • 1993 U.S. Amateur - John Harris
  • 1997 Tour Championship - David Duval
  • 1998 U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur - Virginia Derby Grimes
  • 1999 Tour Championship - Tiger Woods
  • 2001 Tour Championship - Mike Weir
  • 2003 Tour Championship - Chad Campbell
  • 2017 U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur - November 11-16
  • 2020 U.S. Women's Open

The club also hosts the Champions Cup Invitational, one of the premiere two-man best-ball amateur events, since 1961.


source :

External links

source :

  • Official website
  • Oob Golf â€" scorecards â€" Champions Golf Club

source :

Sponsored Links